Patrick Reed gets ripped over rules controversy
Alex Myers discusses Captain America’s bunker penalty and the reaction he’s gotten from fellow tour pros.
Released on 12/9/2019
So Patrick Reed is the center of attention again
in the golf world.
This time, it's not good.
During the third round of the Hero World Challenge,
cameras caught Reed moving sand from behind his golf ball
on not one, but two practice swings.
Such an improvement of his lie was a clear rules violation
to everyone watching except,
well you guessed it, Patrick Reed.
After the round, Reed accepted
the blatant two-stroke penalty, but blamed the camera angle
for making it look worse than it was.
And the next day he told the media
he always gets a raw deal.
Patrick, a little advice on your method of damage control.
Sh, you're only making things worse.
Of course, if Reed wants to say something
he should start with an apology.
And not to the fans, but to his fellow players.
In the meantime, some of those fellow players
are speaking out against the 2018 Masters champ.
Eddie Pepperell tweeted at Reed,
What the bleep were you thinking?
Marc Leishman said Reed has provided
the Presidents Cup crowds in Australia with
some pretty good ammo.
And Cameron Smith called Reed's camera angle explanation
And said, I don't have any sympathy for anyone who cheats.
Cam using the dreaded cee word, yikes.
I'm not going that far because it's hard to believe
someone would be that dumb with the camera rolling
right behind them.
But as soon as Reed's digging in the sand happened,
someone dug up a clip of him doing the exact same thing
at Tiger's tournament four years to the date.
And that viral video of Reed instructing
a European Tour camera crew to go away
while he set up for a shot from the rough
in Germany last year, also resurfaced.
On the heels of the Houston Astros
systematic cheating being exposed,
let's just say Reed is lucky Jimmy Jomboy O'Brien
isn't a golf fan.
That dude pours over old footage,
like I go through holiday M&M's during December.
Of course, none of Captain America's teammates
have called him out, yet.
Or at least, not publicly.
You have to wonder if the topic came up during their
20-hour plus plane ride from the Bahamas to Melbourne.
That's a long trip.
I hope captain Woods provided some good snacks at least.
Anyway, for the week, justice was sort of served
as those two penalty strokes wound up being the difference
in Reed finishing behind winner Henrik Stenson.
I see what you did there golf gods.